Writing Effectively

More fun content will be posted soon, but for now, let’s talk grammar!

Writing with Clarity

Being a PR professional, I have to learn how to articulate my thoughts clearly. Here is an example of a reallllly bad PR mess up and how to fix it.

Poor: I love having brunch at the most crowded times of the day such as 1 p.m.

Better: I love having brunch during the crowded time of 1 p.m.

Reducing Clutter

Again, being concise and eliminating fluff is extremely important for a public relations writer. Here is an example of when to cut to the chase.

Poor: Not any of the seven cats laying in the bed by the window are sleeping peacefully. 

Better: None of the seven cats laying in the bed was asleep.

Sentence Variety

Combing sentences that are unnecessarily wordy into a nice, simple sentence is important for all writers. Here is an example of how to nicely combine sentences.

Poor: All of the animals in the zoo were rowdy. They were jumping around and wailing.

Better: All of the zoo animals were jumping around and wailing.

Sentence Emphasis

Making sure the right pieces are in the right places is necessary for making assertive claims. If the information isn’t aligned properly, the meaning or message could get skewed. In paraphrases, the person attribution comes behind the quote and makes sure that said/says is after the speaker’s classification. Here is an example of correct/clean paraphrasing.

Poor: Hannah Claire stated Wednesday that the murder crime scene was a horrendous sight to see during her lunch hour.

Better: The murder scene was a horrendous sight during her lunch hour, Hannah Claire said.

Thanks for learning something today (hopefully!) Talk to you soon!

– Haley C.

Let’s Get #Social